Education Commission|Mission

Mar 29, 2019

The Education Commission exists to facilitate international dialogue in the education field of scenography, performance design for, and theatre technology and to foster quality, innovation, and mobility.

Who We Are
Members of the commission are set, costume, lighting designers and theatre technicians who are also dedicated teachers with strong interest in internationalism in theatre education. The Education Commission meets once yearly by invitations of design and technology schools and OISTAT members. Members exchange teaching approaches and ideas, and share achievements and challenges.

The schedules of the meetings consist of :
(1) Business sessions: Discussion about member’s organizations and projects in these sessions.
(2) Open sessions: In conjunction with our meetings we provide seminars and workshops, programs of lectures and presentations on topics of interest for our hosts.
These forums are open to wide audience of students and teachers and offer wonderful opportunities for broadening professional boundaries by learning from others’ experiences and ways of thinking and doing. These forums are intended not only to inform, but also to interrogate established views and practices and to inspire innovation and experiment. Our meetings provide a forum to our hosts to showcase their educational programs internationally and establish contacts with schools from around the world.  Our meetings have set the beginnings of many international cooperation projects as well as long-lasting professional contacts and friendships. Several Erasmus exchange program networks, that function successfully more than 6  years already, have been initiated at the meetings of the Education Commission.
(3) School visits: Visits to schools and open discussions with students and educators.
(4) Cultural side program: Theatre shows, theatre backstage tours, visits to museums and historic sites