Space Design Sub-commission

Call for Candidates for the Chair of OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission

Apr 22, 2021

Dear Colleagues,

We developed a conversation around the lack of a Space Design Sub-commission (then referred to as a Working Group) when we first met one another as delegates at OISTAT's E-Scapes symposium in Sao Paulo, Brazil in the summer of 2014. This was not a new conversation within OISTAT but we decided we would like to try and make something happen.

We held our first formal meeting at World Stage Design in Taipei in 2017 and those present decided that they would like us to formally take on the role of Co-Chairs.

OISTAT Statutes determine that there can only be one nominated Chair that carries a vote from each Sub-commission and this is what the Call for Nominations below is for. 
Thereafter, the Sub-commission can be run by a Chair and Vice Chairs, Co-Chairs or, as we have operated laterally with our colleague Jennifer Ivey, as Co-Chairs and a Facilitator.

We have found this an efficient and effective way to operate in order to fit our OISTAT activity into busy working lives without overburdening any one person. By sharing the commitment across a small team we would hope that standing for office can feel more welcoming and less daunting. 
We are also very keen to encourage and support wider, more diverse and inclusive representation of practitioners, countries and regions within these roles. Similarly, we are very keen that practitioners for whom English is not your comfortable language of communication are assured that OISTAT can work with you to facilitate translation etc.

If you feel that you don't fully understand how the organisation operates, please don't let that put you off applying--there are plenty of people within the organisation who can guide you in this regard. 
We encourage and welcome all those interested to self-nominate or urge a colleague to accept a nomination to continue the work of this young but vibrant Sub-commission.

Fiona Watt and Rob Eastman-Mullins
Co-Chairs: OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission

Call for Candidates for the Chair of OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission

Dear Colleagues, 

The Chair election for the OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission will be held at the OISTAT online digital Congress during October 8-13, 2021. The call for candidates is now open. OISTAT Centres, Associate Members and Individual Members and Active Members of Space Design Sub-commission are encouraged to send nominations to Headquarters at headquarters@oistat.org no later than June 10, 2021

OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission serves as a conduit of communication, a touchpoint for activity, and a facilitator of creativity for the community of international scenographers, scenic designers, and other designers of performance space. We would like to thank the current Co-Chairs Rob Eastman-Mullins and Fiona Watt for opening up a wide range of possibilities for OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission. 

The Candidate nominations from OISTAT Centres and Associate Members should include a letter of nomination from the OISTAT Centre or the OISTAT Associate Member, the candidate’s CV and the candidate’s statement of intent. Nominations from Individual Members and Active Members of Space Design Sub-commission should include a letter of nomination from the nominator, the candidate’s CV and the candidate’s statement of intent

The Chair of OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission serves as a member of the OISTAT Governing Board (GB). Governing Board members shall work under the auspices of the Congress and not as representatives of their OISTAT centres and shall meet with the Executive Committee at least once a year, not including its meeting at the Congress. The Chair of OISTAT Space Design Sub-commission shall also organize commission meetings at least once a year to discuss projects, commission affairs and collaborations with other commissions.
According to OISTAT Statutes, an Active Member of a Sub-commission should be in anyway a member of OISTAT. Each Sub-commission may add additional criteria on the qualification of active member.   

The criterion of active member in Space Design Sub-commission is attending at least one Space Design Sub-commission meeting, either virtually or in-person, within the past two years.

Guidelines for election of Chairs of Sub-Commissions can be found in OISTAT Statutes-Appendix 2:


A general schedule for elections which ensures continuity and complies with the Statutes shall be made by the Executive Committee.


  1. All members of OISTAT Centres, Individual Members and delegates of Associate Members are eligible to be elected as Chair of a Sub-Commission.
  2. At least six months before a Sub-Commission meeting takes place at which a Chair is to be elected, the EC will ask the OISTAT Centres, Individual Members, Associate Members and other active members of the Sub-Commission to nominate candidates for the post of Chair of the Sub-Commission in question.
  3. The OISTAT Centres, Individual Members, Associate Members and other active members of the Sub-Commission should send names and addresses of possible candidates to the EC within two months.
  4. The EC can appoint one or more persons who will contact the persons in question for further information.
  5. This list will be made public at least two months before the Commission meeting at which the election is to take place.
  6. All active members of the Sub-Commission, who are in any way a member of OISTAT, and attending that Sub-Commission meeting will be entitled to vote.
  7. Every active member of the Sub-Commission, who is in any way member of OISTAT, has a full vote.
  8. The election takes place by secret ballot.
  9. The candidate who has the highest number of votes cast, if these are more than half of the votes cast, will become Chair.
  10. If such a result is not obtained during the first election, then a second election will be held between the two candidates with the highest number of votes. If two candidates have equally received the second highest number of votes, then an election shall first be held between these two candidates.
  11. After the Chair has been elected, one or more Vice-Chairs will be chosen.
  12. Should the Chair resign or otherwise leave office during his/her term of office, the Vice-Chair will hold office until the next scheduled meeting.

Thank you and we look forward to receiving your recommendations and nominations. 


Bert Determann

Executive Director
Wan-Jung Wei

International Organisation of Scenographers, Theatre Architects and Technicians
Organisation Internationale des Scénographes, Techniciens et Architectes de Théâtre
Suite L, Center for Innovation Taipei (CIT), No.1, Yumen St., Taipei 10452, Taiwan
Tel: +886 2 25962294   Fax: +886 2 25981647 
Web: www.oistat.org Email: headquarters@oistat.org